Huron County Sheriff's Website Banner
Home   Sheriff Corbin   Staff   Civil   Jail   K-9   Road Patrol   Jail Roster  
Sheriff's Sale   Sheriff's Sale FAQ   Civilian Fingerprints   Contact  

Huron County Sheriff's Office
255 Shady Lane Drive
Norwalk, Ohio 44857
Phone: (419) 668-6912
Non-Emergency: (419) 663-2828

Like Us On Facebook

Concealed Carry License

During the state mandated Stay-At-Home order we are requiring appointments for all concealed carry applicants. Please call 419-668-6912 ext 1642 to schedule your appointment.

Hours:
No weekend hours and we are closed for all Federal Holidays.

Downloadable Forms:
Application for a new or renewal CCW license in Ohio.

Ohio Concealed Carry Laws, Forms & Other Information

New Applicant Requirements:

  1. Must be at least 21 years of age.
  2. A legal resident of the USA
  3. Pay a fee of $67.00 for applicants who have been a resident of Ohio for a minimum of 5 years or more. Otherwise the fee is $77.00. We accept Debit and Credit Cards (for a small fee), a Personal Check, or Cash (must be exact change).
  4. You must live in Huron County or an adjacent county in order to apply in Huron County.
  5. Provide a completed application. This can be downloaded from the link above.
  6. Must be a resident or employed in the State of Ohio.
  7. Bring your training certificate which should include an attest clause referencing ORC 2923.125 (G) (1) & (G) (2).
  8. Provide a picture ID (Driver's license or state ID)
  9. All photographs relating to your permit will be provided by our office free of charge.

Renewal Applicant Requirements:

  1. Provide a completed application. This can be downloaded from the link above.
  2. Bring your current CCW permit as proof of training.
  3. Pay a fee of $50.00 for applicants who have been a resident of Ohio for a minimum of 5 years or more. Otherwise the fee is $60.00. We accept Debit and Credit Cards (for a small fee), a Personal Check, or Cash (must be exact change).
  4. You must live in Huron County or an adjacent county in order to apply in Huron County.
  5. Must be a resident of Ohio or employed in Ohio.
  6. Provide a picture ID (Driver's license or state ID)
  7. All photographs relating to your permit will be provided by our office free of charge.

Active or Retired Military Applicant Requirements:

Active or reserve military personnel need to provide their active military ID along with documentation of their firearms training.

Retired or discharged military need to provide documentation of their honorable discharge and the firearms training they received while in the military.

If the correct documentation is provided there is no need for active, reserve or former military personnel to take the CCW training course and the permit is provided free of charge until the state uses $1.5 million dollars each year. Once that money is used military will once again need to pay as stated above. This applies to new and renewals.

Active or Retired Law Enforcement:

Currently active law enforcement need to bring their ID or their OPOTA training certificate.

If a retired law enforcement officer has been retired within the past ten years they need to bring their ID that was issued at the time of retirement with the date of their retirement.

Retired law enforcement do not have to pay for their CCW.

Amy Cawrse
For more information please contact Mrs. Amy Cawrse.

E:Mail:
acawrse@huroncountysheriff.org


Phone:
419-668-6912 ext. 1642


This site was designed by Kyle Knight Media in Sandusky, Ohio.